Government departments

The Human Rights Commission works for a fair, safe and just society, where diversity is valued and human rights are respected.

Ministry of Pacific Island Affairs promotes the economic, social and cultural wellbeing of Pacific peoples in New Zealand.

Office of Ethnic Affairs focuses on people whose culture and traditions distinguish them from the majority in New Zealand. Includes links to intercultural awareness resources.

Te Puni Kōkiri (Ministry of Māori Development) guides Māori public policy by advising Government on policy affecting Māori wellbeing and development.

Te Manatu Taonga: Ministry for Culture & Heritage‘s overall role is to help make New Zealand culture visible and accessible.

The Office for Disability Issues promotes and monitors implementation of the New Zealand Disability Strategy, lead cross-sector policy development, and support the Minister for Disability Issues.